TO:

James L. App City Manager

FROM:

Douglas R. Hamp
Chief of Emergency Services

SUBJECT:

Establishment of a Task Force for the Emergency Services Growth Management Plan

DATE:

March 21, 2000

NEED:

For the City Council to authorize the formation of an Emergency Services Growth Management Plan Task Force for the purposes of collecting public input.

FACTS:

- 1. On October 19, 1999 the City of Paso de Robles entered into an agreement with Emergency Services Consulting Group (ESCG) of Wilsonville, Oregon to conduct a Growth Management Plan for providing community fire and life safety services through the year 2020.
- 2. As required, ESCG provided a "Report of Findings" that identifies preliminary data on current Emergency Services workloads and emergency response demands, as well as service projections through the year 2020. The Report of Findings was reviewed by all members of the study sub-committee: Councilmembers Tom Baron and Frank Mecham, City Manager James App, Community Development Director Bob Lata, Police Chief Dennis Cassidy, Administrative Services Director Mike Compton, and Emergency Services Chief Doug Hamp.
- 3. The study sub-committee believes that the Report of Findings provides an adequate foundation for further community-based participation and City Council consideration through public workshops.

ANALYSIS AND CONCLUSION:

As part of the sequential format for conducting the fire and life safety Growth Management Plan, ESCG provided an initial "Report of Findings" to the study sub-committee. This report contains research data relating to response history, response types, response times, workloads and the like.

The next step in determining future service levels into the year 2020 is to gain input from community members about their expectations and desires for fire and life safety service levels.

Councilmember Mecham recommended that the City Council appoint a citizen project task force composed of one member from each existing advisory committee who has experience in discussion management at public forums (see Attachment A for Advisory Committees). In addition, appointing two or three members at large, along with City Manager James App, Community Development Director Bob Lata and Emergency Services Chief Doug Hamp, will provide a broad coverage of community representation.

This task force will present an informed overview of the study's scope and intent, facilitate questions, and interpret community desires from information gathered at a minimum of two community workshops. The task force will also be charged with formulating a perspective of community input for City Council consideration.

POLICY REFERENCE: None.

FISCAL IMPACT:

\$500 to be used for advertising workshops, facility use, and staff time for taking minutes and information processing.

OPTIONS:

- A. For the City Council to appoint one experienced member from each of the community advisory boards, and two to three members at large, to the Emergency Services Growth Management Plan Task Force, to provide for a broad spectrum of input and to authorize the task force to schedule a minimum of two public workshops.
- B. Amend, modify or reject the above option.

CITY OF PASO ROBLES ADVISORY COMMITTEES

Citizens Airport Advisory Committee

(Staff Member: Roger Oxborrow)

David Brooks
Martin Caskey
Gary Corippo
John Cromwell
James (Mac) Gleim
Martin Meeker
Charles Miller
Richard Morton
Ronald Rose

Housing & Disabled Access Appeals Board

(Staff Member: Doug Monn)

Kevin Dolan
John Fulton
Cheryl Gordon
John Lear
Jim Saunders
Lee Swanson
Fred Sweeney

Housing Authority

(Director: Gene Bergman)

Chet Dotter
Joe Dutra
Raymond Hampson
Vicky Jeffcoach
Gladys Moore
Richard Stainbrook
Robert Velasquez

Library Board of Trustees

(Staff Member: Annie Robb)

Barbara Dabul M. Patricia Glancy Jack Gulshen James Knecht Terry-Ann Reid I. Rudyard Stone Betsy Watson

Parks & Recreation Advisory Committee

(Staff Member: Barbara Partridge)

Donna Berg
Carol Conway
Chet Dotter
Robin Fairbairn
T. J. Jolicoeur
Richard Parham
Jane Roach
Brian Thorndyke
Greig Welch

Pioneer Museum Board of Trustees

(President: B. R. Bryant) (Vice President: Jean Sudden)

Steve Cicorski
Paul Ernst
Tom Flynn
Les Hoffman
Gary McMaster
Glenn Muggelberg
Bonnie Nelson
Milene Radford
Rod Reuting
Byby Root
Joyce Sommers
Keith Tarwater
Ole Viborg

(Charter Members Emeritus: Jim Claassen & Woody Eschwig)

Planning Commission

(Staff Member: Bob Lata)
George Finigan
Ron Johnson
Ralph McCarthy
Gary Nemeth
Ed Steinbeck

Edward Tascona Valerie Warnke

Project Area Committee (PAC)

(Staff Member: Bob Lata)

Norma Duncan Nick Gilman Anthony Horzen Ralph McCarthy Dawn McGee

Matt Masia Marie Payne

Thomas Rusch

Debra Smith Ruben Tate

Larry Werner

Senior Citizen Advisory

Committee

(Staff Member: Barbara Partridge)

Dolly Bader

Edna DeBardelaben

Helen Dutra

Dale Gustin

Virginia Harris

Wayne Harris

Dell Velten

Velta Williamson

Dorothy Worden

Transit Advisory Committee

(Staff Member: Mike Compton)

Joe Dutra

Terry Gillespie

Patrick Mackie

Justin Malone

James Martin

Sandee McLaughlin

Robert Slenes

.

Youth Commission

(Staff Member: Barbara Partridge)

Susana Ayala

Renee Banakis

Nicole Boyce

Milos Cam-Robb

Carly Dahlen

Robert Hubbard

Brandon Kline

Levi McNellis

Sierra Rose Przybyla

Sara Smith

Moyenne Sparkman

Michelle Villalobos